• slide

Past Award Winners

The Ann Arbor Polish Film Festival prides itself in noticing excellence in both the short film and documentary categories, annually giving awards to non-feature films:

The EWA PIETA* Award for The BEST FESTIVAL Non-Feature Film

Dr. ANDRZEJ DOLATA Award for The BEST DEBUT Non-Feature Film

Previous Award Recipients:

2015 - Best Film: Simon Target for for A Town Called Brzostek (Brzostek - historia pewnego powrotu)
2015 - Best Debut: Tomasz Protokowicz for A Long Time Ago in Silesia (Dawno temu na Slasku)
2014 - Best Film: Sophia Turkiewicz for Once My Mother.
2013 - Best Film: Slawomir Grunberg and Tomasz Wisniewski for Castaways (Wyrzutki).
2013 - Best Debut: Adrian Prawica for Fourth Partition (Czwarty Rozbior).
2012 - Best Film: Philip Lauri for After the Factory.
2012 - Best Debut: Kordian Kadziela for Boo! (Muka!).
2011 - Best Film: Piotr Uzarowicz for The Officer's Wife.
2010 - Best Film: Bożena Garus-Hockuba for They Took His Love Away.
2009 - Best Film: Jolanta Dylewska for Po-lin.
2008 - Best Film: Two recipients: Krzysztof Kopczyński for Stone Silence; Ewa Stankiewicz and Anna Ferens for Three Buddies
2007 - Best Film: Bożena Garus-Hockuba for The Lilpop Sisters and Their Passions
2006 - Best Film: Andreas Voigt for Encounters with Kieslowski
2005 - Best Film: Ewa Pieta for Like a Butterfly

Ewa Pieta Award

Image of Eva Pieta award

Ewa Pieta - a very talented Polish director and screenwriter of the new generation, whose films were presented on more than 100 film festivals, winning 20 awards, mostly abroad. She believed that films had the power to make the world a better place. Her documentary “Like a Butterfly” was the first film to receive an award from our festival. Ewa Pieta was a guest of that festival in 2005. She died a year later at the age of 38, having just finished her last documentary, about the Burning Man festival in Nevada. The Ann Arbor Polish Film Festival has named the festival’s award in her honor.

© Ann Arbor Polonia